How To Erase All Content And Factory Reset Android Devices

If you are going to sell your used Android phone you should erase all of your private data and restore it to the original factory settings. You should also do this if you bought a used phone that still has the previous owner’s information. You can wipe the data on both used Android cell phones and tablets. Additionally, your phone may be operating very slowly and you’ll want delete all the unnecessary data that is bogging it down.

The important thing here is that you don’t want a stranger to have your personal and private data. If you use your phone for everything it probably contains saved passwords, pictures, text messages, emails, etc… Make sure to delete everything before selling your device. A factory reset will erase all of your phone’s data and restore it to the settings that it came with out of the box. It will also also make sure your device runs like new for its next owner.

If you are upgrading your phone from your wireless provider, you may have the option to trade in your old phone for a discount. For example, if you buy the new Galaxy from Verizon, T-mobile, AT&T, or Sprint, you might be able to trade-in your old droid on the same day at the wireless store. The wireless employee will probably tell your they will delete your data for you. But I would not recommend depending on them to do so. I would delete the data myself to make sure your private info doesn’t get into the wrong hands.

Before you erase everything on your device, you should backup all the data so you can move it onto your new device. I recommend using Reware’s MyBackup Pro to do this through the cloud. You can buy the app for $4 on the Droid app store. However you can also backup your data on your SD card or on your computer. If you’re planning on wiping the SD card and migrating the data to a new or replacement device, you should back up the data to your PC so it doesn’t get lost when you’re wiping everything. To back up your personal data to your PC, mount the device as a USB drive and save all data to a folder on your computer’s hard drive. If you already have Android’s built-in Backup and Restore turned on (it’s an option under Settings > Privacy) then your apps should be backed up on Google’s servers and should restore when you activate your new phone. Make a backup of your own just in case Google doesn’t restore everything you want it to and you want to keep your existing text messages and other data.

You can erase and reset your phone with three simple steps:

1. To initiate the Android device wipe process, first tap your Android Menu key to bring up a number of on-screen options. Open your device’s Settings and Select the “Privacy” settings, and scroll down to “Factory reset”. Depending on your device, the “Factory data reset” feature may be located in the “Backup and reset” settings, then scroll down to “Factory reset”.

Android Privacy Settings

2. Select “Reset Phone”. By default, all of your phone’s internal storage will be wiped. If you want to erase all of the data on your phone’s SD card as well, check the box at the bottom of the screen.

Reset Android Phone

3. Tap “Erase Everything”. This will delete all data and restore back to your device’s factory settings. The Android erase cycle may take 10 minutes or more to finish, depending on how much data is stored on your device and/or memory card. Your phone will be as if it just came out of the box.

Android Erase Everything

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device unless you select it in step 2.

Enter your email address to receive updates (It's Free!)

Speak Your Mind

*

Copyright © 2017 CellSolo. Hosted on Bluehost