How To Disable ‘Find My iPhone’ Before You Sell

The ‘Find My iPhone’ feature is great for Apple products because it allows you to prevent a thief from activating your device. This makes stolen iPhones useless. However, if you are selling your iPhone, you must disable the ‘Find My iPhone’ feature before you transfer the device to the new owner. iPhones and iPads with Find My iPhone enabled can not be activated by someone else unless the feature is turned off. Even if you delete/wipe your device, you still must disable the feature. If you don’t, the new owner will be stuck at activation. I can only imagine the frustration on the buyer’s face when they can’t activate the phone they just paid a lot of money for.

  1. Launch the Settings app on your old iPhone when you’re ready to erase everything.
  2. Tap on iCloud.
  3. Turn Off the option for Find My iPhone.
  4. Enter your iCloud password to confirm.

Find My Iphone

 

Did You Forget To Turn It Off?

Did you sell your old iPhone and receive a complaint from the new owner that they can’t activate it without your authorization? This is what would happen if you didn’t disable the feature. Luckily, you can deactivate Find My iPhone remotely which should then, in turn, allow you to bypass the Activation Lock.

You will need 2 things to fix the situation:

1. iCloud email address

2. iCloud password

 

Option 1: Disable your old phone with your new phone

  1. Ask the new owner to urn the iPhone or iPad in question Off or put it in airplane mode. If the device is on and Find My iPhone has an active location, it will not allow you to delete it.
  2. Launch the Find My iPhone app from a different iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch and sign in to the account that is currently tied to the iOS device in question.
  3. Find the device in the list and tap on it.
  4. In the top right hand corner, tap on Remove.

Remote Wipe from App

 

Option 2: Disable your old phone with iCloud.com

  1. Ask the new owner to turn the iPhone or iPad in question Off or put it in airplane mode. If the device is on and Find My iPhone has an active location, it will not allow you to delete it.
  2. From a computer, go to www.icloud.com and sign in using the iCloud ID that is currently tied to the iPhone or iPad in question.
  3. Now click on Find My iPhone.
  4. Click on All Devices at the top of the Find My iPhone screen.
  5. Find the device in question in the list and click on it.
  6. On the next screen, click on Remove from Account. You may get a popup over the map instead, if that’s the case, refer to below.
  7. One more popup will come up asking you to confirm. Click on Remove.

 

Buying an Apple Device?

Are you buying a used iPhone or iPad? Make sure the device you are buying isn’t still linked to the seller’s account. If it is, you won’t be able to use it. To check, use similar instructions as above. It helps to ask the seller if the deactivated it, but double check with the following steps:

1. Touch the settings app.

2. Touch iCloud.

3. Scroll down to “Find My iPhone” and make sure it is not selected as on.

 

Enter your email address to receive updates (It's Free!)

Speak Your Mind

*

Copyright © 2017 CellSolo. Hosted on Bluehost